Teacher Performance Assessment (TPA)

The Teacher Performance Assessments (TPA) are four written tasks that Teacher Candidates must complete in order to receive a California Preliminary Teaching Credential.   These four tasks are considered Performance-Based Assessments as they measure your knowledge, skills and understanding as it relates to teaching and student learning.  Moreover these tasks increase in complexity and focus on strategies to work with diverse student populations such as English language learners and student with exceptional needs.

These four tasks focus on Teachers Pedagogical Content Knowledge:

  1. TPA 1: Subject Specific Pedagogy
  2. TPA 2: Designing Instruction
  3. TPA 3: Assessing Learning
  4. TPA 4: Culminating Teaching

You can find out more about the TPA by visiting the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing CALTPA page.

National University Candidates should visit the NUTASKSTREAM page for questions, tutorials as well as setting up a Taskstream account which you will use to submit your TPA tasks.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Ranked in Top 100 Education Blogs

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive your free E-book on Creating a mastery oriented classroom

Join 344 other followers

Pre-order: Preparing Perservice Teachers for Inclusive Classroom

Buy Now: Increasing Productivity & Efficiency in Online Teaching

Buy Now: Motivation in Mathematics Classroom

%d bloggers like this: